Planners Anonymous

My name is Abigail, and I am an obsessive planner… I admit it.

I am so forward thinking in fact, that I have a beautiful five year plan written out which is constantly updated. My little black book that sits in my handbag or on my desk, constantly providing me reasons to work hard and inspiration in times of hardship. I realise that plans change, they have to in a world that is constantly changing and growing, but I don’t see why I can’t dream big after all;

‘you aim for the moon and if you miss you’ll be among the stars’

My message to the future me is simple; never give up, never use the actions of a few to determine the actions of everyone. Unfortunately your luck suggests your going to meet a lot of these people who make you hate yourself and put so little trust into the rest of humanity, its an unfortunate side effect of society. There are some amazing people in this world (I know a few so I know they exist) you should always go searching for them and never stay stuck with the people holding you back.

I recently realized that my career choice and path is fluid, and that despite my hesitation to do so I should leave it that way… for now. It is quite unnerving that in the past few months I have been really at a loss of what I want to do in the future, my plan is slowly crumbling and the planner in me is slowly having a breakdown. The problem is simple, yet important.

I can’t decide between studying infectious diseases and epidemiology, especially as they are so interconnected. I am hoping that one of my optional modules with equip me with the tools to decide on a path. I only wish I knew which path to travel, the earlier the better in this world; doing this allows you to get ahead of the competition and there is a lot of it.

I also want to learn a language; I would like to be almost fluent in french by this time next year. Languages nowadays are the best way to standout from the crowd, make you a more flexible worker. Its on the list, has been for a while and despite an A* GCSE in the language I know nowhere near enough to survive if I wanted to. I start and stop this goal all the time; and I need to start allocating the right amount of time towards it or it will never get done.

Its only when your planning starts to crumble that you realise the world is moving, you are growing and changing as you learn and that you can never be complacent for one minute; I learn and work in a world where instructions and timings are key to success, but the moment you step out of that laboratory the world starts moving again and you need to stop planning… as strictly.. unfortunately as a planning addict I don’t think I will ever really be able to ‘go with the flow’ and wing life. But maybe this realization will help me become slightly more spontaneous; we can hope, right?

 

Leave a Reply

